Skip to content

Elfie’s Back!

December 5, 2013

Elfie, our Elf on a Shelf is back again this year. Last year the kids had fun finding Elfie every morning and seeing what she had gotten into during the night.

I’m determined not to go overboard with Elfie’s antics, but some of the ideas I’ve found are too much fun. Then again, there are the nights where I climb into bed and get all cozy only to realize five minutes later Elfie hasn’t moved from her safe perch on the top shelf of the glasses (where curious little two-year-olds can’t reach her). So I have to get out and think of something quick so I can get back into my nice warm bed.

Elfie arrived on the top of the chandelier in the dining room with poseable arms and legs and wearing a new skirt.

IMG_3337

The next night saw her practice spelling her name in Hershey’s mint truffle kisses.

IMG_3340

And the next she was checking the gallery wall to make sure the pictures were all hanging straight.

IMG_3346

She showed the kids she’s a bit of a daredevil by hanging upside down off the Nativity banner that hangs in the doorway between the dining room and living room.

IMG_3369

Last night Elfie was harvesting a bumper crop of candy corn. They’re one of the Elves’ four major food groups, you know.

IMG_3373

I have a feeling the kiddo is teetering on the edge between believing and not. He’s still excited to find Elfie every morning, and comes in to tell us what she’s been up to, but he’ll ask whether we moved her or other questions about her “magic.” It makes me a little sad to think our oldest is almost to old for the magic of Santa at Christmas, but the kidlet is still going strong, and we’ll have kid3 to take up the reins for the next few years after the older two are done.

I have some more fun ideas in mind for Elfie, and I hope the kids like them too.

No comments yet

Leave a comment