Skip to content

Improvising

September 13, 2010

Even though I’ve only been back for about three weeks, already I’m relearning that improvising is a big part of living in a small town – especially when you have two kids and your husband is still 100 miles away finishing up a project for his “real” job. Thankfully my parents are a mere 5 minutes away if we need anything in a pinch.

Last week I learned a 120″ curtain rod does not really work on a 13′ window and improvised lengthening the curtain rod with an 8′ piece of aluminum piping.

Then I discovered the cream cheese I had left from the old house was disgustingly moldy and had to improvise making homemade macaroni and cheese with herb and garlic Laughing Cow cheese. It was still pretty tasty, though definitely garlicky!

And finally I made hodge-podge cookies with the three half-bags of chips (dark chocolate, butterscotch, toffee) I had left in the cupboard when I discovered I had run out of milk chocolate chips. Those were definitely tasty!

You have to be a little creative when you can’t just jump in the car and run to the store when you need something!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kristyn permalink
    September 14, 2010 8:51 am

    Did your baking fiascos happen on a Sunday? Otherwise you do have a grocery store in town, you know. 😉

Leave a Reply

