Skip to content

I miss…. running?

October 12, 2010

For the past two years, my sister and I have done the Couch to 5k program and run a 5k in her town. This year, we also ran a few other races.

Now, I am not athletically inclined in the least – that’s the hub’s department. But I like staying active and fit. Running was something I never thought I’d be in to, but using a program like the C25k that breaks it down to intervals and gradually increases running time actually made it enjoyable. Well, maybe not enjoyable, but manageable.

So from April to August I got up early 3 days a week and ran. Even if I didn’t want to, I did it anyway. And somewhere along the way I discovered I didn’t mind it as much as I used to. It wasn’t as much of a chore as it was in the beginning. I don’t think I’ll ever be a marathon runner or anything, but I got to kind of like the rhythm of the running and breathing.

And I definitely liked what it did to my figure. I had definition and tone. I jiggled much less than before running. I even had some abs.

My sister and I ran our last race at the end of August. And I haven’t been able to run since then. I never thought I would miss it, but I kind of do.

I miss having that time to myself – to think (or not to think, usually), to listen to music and to just let my legs do their thing. I didn’t have to change poopy diapers or read the same book for the millionth time or answer Why for the millionth time or give someone a snack for the millionth time.

And I definitely miss having the muscle tone and energy I got from running. I no longer have abs (well, I might, but they’re evidently hibernating under a layer of winter fat). My legs and arms are no longer toned. And I’m definitely jiggly again, though that might have something to do with the pie, bread, cookies and candy I’ve been eating over the past two months as opposed to not just running anymore.

I mean, I do try and get some exercise each week. I take the kiddo and the dog out on 45-50 minute walks at least 4 days a week. And I’m going to try and wake up with the hub and do some of my exercise DVDs while the kids are still asleep. I got up yesterday, anyway. Today, notsomuch.

Our bed is just too comfy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

