Skip to content

Ghosties and goulies

November 1, 2010

Or a princess and Spiderman, in our case.

“Don’t worry mom, it’s just me!”

The kiddos had a great time Trick or Treating last night. Our small town has set hours for Trick or Treating, which is kind of nice, though that didn’t stop one wayward family stopping by our house about 45 minutes after ToTing was supposed to end.

Once he had his costume on, the kiddo was ready to go.

“Come on!”

He didn’t want to wear his mask out, so he could see better. That was fine by me.

The kidlet tried her hardest to keep up, but it’s hard when your legs are short.

I didn’t know if she would consent to wearing her Princess costume last night. We had a slight “disagreement” on Wednesday when she could wear it to Storytime at the library. And by disagreement, I mean an all-out screaming fest/tantrum which concluded with her running to her room and slamming the door. I thought I had another 10 years at least before I had to worry about that kind of behavior.

Her “parkly shoes” were the favorite part of her costume. Of course, once she did put it on last night, she didn’t want to take it off, and she wanted to wear it again today.

We didn’t wander too far; two streets garnered them more than enough candy and took us about an hour to traverse (again, working with short legs). The kiddo was great about remembering to say “trick or treat” at each house. The kidlet couldn’t quite get the hang of that, but she was prolific with her “tank oo” once the candy had been dropped in her bag.

I was never very good about rationing out my candy when I was little – I usually had it gone within the next few days – but I’m trying to help the kiddos have a bit more patience. They can each choose one treat for their afternoon snack and then maybe one after supper. Of course, what they don’t like becomes the hub’s and mine. Not like we need it; I have two big bags of candy I bought in anticipation of ToTing, not really thinking that our house is on a main highway, with no sidewalk, near the edge of the town, and our treaters would be few.

It’s a good thing I like peanut butter pumpkins. I’ve only had about 7 today.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 10:30 pm

    I was reading your blog (love it!) and my son stopped me when he saw a picture of your son. “That is the Spiderman mask I wanted mom!” The mask he had for Halloween only went to his nose and not his neck. He then stated “His mommy found him a cool mask, mom.” Lovely!!

    Anyhow, from one Midwestern mom to another – Happy Fall!

    Mary

    • November 8, 2010 10:56 am

      Hee. Aren’t little boys a riot? The kiddo now tells me what I “should have” done if something doesn’t go his way. Uh, I don’t think so buddy!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

