Skip to content

I love pie

November 18, 2010

So I was extremely happy when The Pioneer Woman declared this week Pie Week!

I’ve posted about my Grandma Emma’s Apple Pie. Back in my previous blog, I posted about the hub’s favorite strawberry rhubarb pie. And I don’t think I’ve ever met a pie I didn’t like. Coconut cream? Like. Sour cream and raisin? Like. Cherry? Like. French silk? Like. Of course, some I prefer more than others, but I think it’s impossible for me to ever turn down a slice of pie, unless it’s anise (licorice) flavored. Even then, I’d at least have a bite to really make sure I didn’t like it.

When I saw the post on Savour Fare about her maple walnut pie, I knew I had to try it. We’re big fans of pecan pie in this house, and it sounded right up our alley, especially with the maple flavor. And when The Pioneer Woman posted her recipe for hard sauce, it sounded like the perfect topping.

The recipe for the pie itself was fairly straightforward. What I didn’t anticipate was the difficulty of trying to make the pie and cook supper (which was tater tot casserole) at the same time. I thought I had it all figured out: I’d brown the meat and put the casserole together while the walnuts were toasting in the oven. While the casserole was cooking, I’d make the crust and prebake that after the casserole came out of the oven. While the piecrust was baking, I’d mix the filling and let the casserole cool. Once the crust was ready, I’d pour in the filling and bake the pie while we enjoyed a lovely supper. It all worked out so wonderfully in my head.

Only, I kind of forgot about the walnuts, so they got a little too toasted in the oven. And then I started making the filling before I had even finished the pie crust, so that sat out while I switched gears and rolled out the crust. After I had my (rather gorgeous, if I do say so myself) crust ready, the casserole wasn’t nearly cooked through, so I had to wait on that. While I was waiting on that, I realized I have no pie weights to put in the bottom of the prebaking pie crust. I ended up improvising with some dinner spoons, which worked out okay. The casserole still wasn’t heated through by the time the crust was done, but by this time, the filling had been sitting, mixed, for about 15 minutes, so the casserole went into the microwave and the pie went into the oven. I’m still getting used to the oven in our new house, so the pie baked a tad long and the crust got a bit more brown than I’d wanted before I put the pie shield on. But it smelled and looked divine, despite it not being perfect.

Yum!

Just look at the gloss on the top of the pie.

Next up was the hard sauce, which is basically a type of thick buttercream frosting with liquor instead of milk/cream for the liquid. Uh, yes please!

In her recipe, The Pioneer Woman used whiskey – I’m assuming a bourbon style, though she never distinctly said. I used Templeton Rye, which is a rye whiskey made right here in Iowa. It’s “the good stuff” made from a Prohibition-era recipe and is purported to be the liquor preferred by Al Capone.

Check out their website if you get a chance, it’s a really great story and a great product. Plus, it’s made locally, and we love to support our fellow Iowans. The hub got this bottle for Christmas a few years ago and we’ve tended to save it for special occasions.

Look at the hand-dating on the bottle. Coincidently, this bottle is four years old today! It’s aging nicely.

Making the hard sauce. I love my big KitchenAid mixer, but it was almost too big for just a single batch. I think I would have eaten all the hard sauce straight from the bowl if the hub wouldn’t have stopped me.

The finished product. Despite the too-brown crust, it was delicious, and the hard sauce with Templeton Rye was the perfect complement. Both the hub and I had a piece after supper, and then he had another piece before bed.

Mmm…. the hard sauce is getting all melty into the warm pie.

The biggest difference between what I made and Savour Fare’s recipe was that I couldn’t find grade B maple syrup near us, so I had to use the more refined grade A. I’d like to try it with grade B at some point, I’m hoping the maple flavor will be a little more pronounced. But it’s definitely being added to the pie recipe box, and the hub has even requested that I make it for Thanksgiving at the IL’s next week. I’ve managed to resist a piece so far today, but have a feeling that might be my lunch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 2:36 pm

    Love your blog! My mouth is totally watering!

  2. Kristyn permalink
    November 20, 2010 9:44 am

    We sure got totally different taste bud genes! 😛 I’ll pass on most pie, except maybe the fruity ones like strawberry or banana cream.

Leave a Reply

