Skip to content

Procrastination

November 25, 2010

should be my middle name, not Ann. I was tasked with making two pies and rolls for our Thanksgiving Day dinner at my parents today. I could have started them last night, I had plenty of time. The kids went to bed at a reasonable hour, I had all the dishes washed and the kitchen cleaned up shortly after 8, I had all the ingredients I needed, I just didn’t have the motivation.

So I sat on the couch instead, watching syndicated episodes of How I Met Your Mother and True Stories of the ER on TLC (it was very educational, I swear) and didn’t get to bed until after midnight.

Which meant I had to be up shortly after 7 to make sure I had ample time to bake everything I was supposed to, instead of sleeping in on a holiday.

I’ve always had a bad habit of procrastinating. I know the old adage “don’t put off until tomorrow what you can do today” is all well and good, but it’s not always exactly fun, is it? I mean, I know there’s the pile of laundry on our bedroom floor that needs to be folded, but I’d rather play with the kids or re-read Harry Potter in anticipation of going to see the next movie or bake cookies. I’ll get to the laundry eventually (or, if I wait long enough, they’ll all be dirty again anyway).

But I guess part of being a responsible adult and setting a good example for our children also means doing those things that aren’t fun.

The pies are turning out wonderfully, and they’ll still be nice and warm when we get there for dinner. The rolls are another story all together. I’m sure they’ll be fine, but I think I need a lot more practice in the art of bread making before I can produce anything that looks more like bread and less like a rock. I even had time to bake a butter braid for breakfast, do a load of laundry (the kidlet peed through her overnight diaper again, ugh), and should even manage to get some exercise in to help stave off the excess eating I’m sure to partake in today.

But I would have had more time to watch the Thanksgiving Day parade if I just would have made those darn pies last night. That’s the price you pay for procrastinating.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

