Skip to content

Meeting with the big guy in red

December 2, 2010
tags:

Our local library had a special visitor this week during storytime – Santa! The kiddo was extremely excited to see him and could barely contain himself through supper.

I know some parents don’t agree with perpetuating the whole Santa myth, but I have no issue with it. To me, it’s part of the wonder of childhood. Even now I still believe in the magic of Santa and goodwill at Christmas. That is evident by my [rather large] Santa collection.

So the kiddo had a great time seeing Santa, he went right up (after a quick stop at the cookie table) and got on Santa’s lap, ready to divulge his heart’s desire for Christmas.

“So, hey, that cookie looks pretty good, can I have a bite?”

“No, I think I’ll keep the cookie, Santa, it is pretty delicious.”

“Well, in that case, what do you want for Christmas?”

“I want an Official Red Ryder Carbine-Action Two-Hundred-Shot Range Model Air Rifle!”

Okay, he didn’t really say that. His exact request was a Santa nap toy, which in kiddo speak means a soft, plush Santa.

“Okay, well, you be good and I’ll see what I can do for your Santa nap toy. Now, smile for mom!”

The kidlet took one look at Santa, looked up at me with eyes full of terror and declared she was “too ‘cared” to sit on Santa’s lap. She was just fine with chomping on her cookie and watching her big brother from afar. Maybe next year.

When we got home from the library, the kiddo amended his request from Santa and decided not only did he want a Santa nap toy, he wanted a Talking Santa nap toy. Hoo boy, where were we going to come up with that one?

Thankfully, Grandma to the rescue! She had done some Googling and figured out Hallmark had a Talking Plush Santa from the Polar Express a few years ago. Hooray for eBay and hooray for Grandma!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

