Skip to content

A [quietly] Rockin’ NYE

December 31, 2010

The kiddo is ready to party.

He decided to put on his new button-down shirt and navy pants and bespangled hat that my parents so generously gave him (more to get it out of their house, I think!) and declared himself ready for New Year’s Eve.

I don’t have the heart to tell him that we’re not really party people in our house – at least not this year – and there’s no way he’s going to stay up until midnight. Maybe 9pm, if we’re feeling generous, but that’s about it.

I have mixed feelings on NYE. Thanks to Dick Clark, everyone thinks it should be this all out party – out with the old and in with the new with champagne, confetti, horns and midnight kisses. But it very rarely turns out that way, at least for us. I can definitively say I’ve never had a Rockin’ New Year’s Eve, even when I was young and single.

So this year we’re staying home and having a nice pork roast with my parents. Some wine, some dessert, probably a movie after they go home and then the $6 bottle of “champagne” (technically California sparkling wine) that I picked up at Target earlier this week when it hits midnight – if we make it that long.

2010 was a year of big changes for us and I’m excited to see what 2011 has in store. Happy New Year’s friends!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

