Skip to content

Poor baby

January 15, 2011
tags:

The kidlet is in the throes of the terrible twos. We were ill equipped for this, as the kiddo’s twos were relatively trouble-free. Threes and fours were much worse with him.

But with the girl, it’s all Attitude, all the time.

Her favorite trick right now is to cross her arms and turn away from us emphatically saying “Leave me ‘lone!” when she doesn’t get what she wants. The problem is, she’s so stinking cute that half the time, we can’t help but laugh, which does nothing but encourage that behavior.

Today she’s been especially trying. She Had to wear her princess dress. She Didn’t want her diaper changed. She Had to have daddy’s flashlight. (She got to wear the dress, only because it’s too cute, we still haven’t gotten the diaper changed, but she didn’t get daddy’s flashlight.) But in the middle of attempting to redirect the tantrum, she walloped me. That earns an automatic time out, so to the front hallway she went.

The two minutes passed and I went over to talk to her and say her timeout was done, but she was still demanding I Leave Her ‘Lone. So I did. About ten minutes later I realized it was awfully quiet up front, so I went to investigate. And this is what I found:

She had moved just enough to come up and grab her lovey and promptly fell asleep on the cold tile floor.

Don’t let the half-open eye fool you (that’s a kind of creepy little trait she seems to share with her uncle and cousins – sleeping with an eye half cracked), she is sleeping (and snoring) soundly. Even the click and flash of the camera didn’t phase her.

We knew she was tired and needed a nap, but with grandparents visiting and extra noise, we didn’t think it would happen. I guess she proved us wrong.

Oh to be able to fall asleep anywhere. I think after about 5 minutes my face would be cold and my legs asleep. But it doesn’t seem to bother her. We’ll let her nap for an hour or so and hopefully she’ll be a little happier.

I do think I’ll cover her with her blanket, though. That tile is rather chilly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 21, 2011 10:57 am

    I have been following your blog for about a year and a half now. I am so glad to read that you have been able to move back to a small town. Please continue to write!

    Susan
    From a very snowy Boston

Leave a Reply

