Skip to content

These cookies are legen — wait for it …

January 27, 2011

… Dary.

Sorry, I’ve been watching a few too many reruns of How I Met Your Mother. The hub’s been gone on a recruiting trip  back to his Alma Mater for his company and I’ve been spending my nights (after the kids are in bed, natch) watching TiVo’d episodes of HIMYM (which is what the cool kids call it).

Before the hub left, I decided to go crazy and bake cookies for the second time in a week. You know, so he could take some along for sustenance on the long car trip to Indiana. And because I really, really wanted to eat cookie dough.

I used the basic recipe for my [insert type of chip] and [insert type of dried fruit] oatmeal cookies. I’ve done white chocolate cranberry, dark chocolate cherry, good old chocolate chip without any kind of fruit and I think good old raisin without any kind of chips. This time I decided to use the bag of dried blueberries I picked up during my last grocery run (they *were* on the list) and the half bag of Ghirardelli 60% cacao chips leftover from my batch of Monster Cookies. I also chopped up some walnuts and used 1 c of whole wheat flour and added some flaxseed meal, you know, to make them “healthy”.’

They.

Were.

Awesome.

The hub said it was as if a blueberry muffin and a chocolate chip cookie had gotten married and had babies. There was a nice density from the whole wheat flour and a nice nuttiness from the walnuts and flaxseed. The blueberries weren’t overpowering, but made a nice contrast to the dark chocolate. They were warm and gooey right out the oven, but had a nice crunch to them once they cooled. Though, if you put them back in the microwave (eight seconds for one, 14 for two) they got all nice and soft and chewy again.

Something like six dozen cookies were gone in less than three days. Granted, I did send a dozen and a half with the hub on his trip, but I had my fair share. They made up the majority of what I ate on Monday and I had some for breakfast at least two days. What, they’re healthy!

I deliberately made them a little smaller so I didn’t feel quite so guilty when I plowed through them, six at at time. And I definitely ate my fair share of cookie dough. I know it’s bad for you, but it’s soooo goooood!

Here’s the recipe, with my alterations:

Dark Chocolate Blueberry Oatmeal Cookies with Walnuts
1 c. butter, soft
1 c. sugar
1 c. brown sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 – 2 c. flour (I used two cups – 1 c. whole wheat flour, 1 c. all-purpose flour. I could have cut back on the AP flour slightly, but they were good as is)
1 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
1 T. ground flaxseed meal (optional)
3 c. oatmeal
1 t. vanilla
1 c. chips (I used Ghirardelli 60% cacao chips)
1 c. dried fruit (I used 1 bag dried blueberries, I think around 6 or 8 oz)

Cream butter and sugars. Add eggs and and vanilla mixing well. Sift together flour(s), soda, salt and flaxseed. Add to butter and sugars, mixing well. Stir in oatmeal and chips (I usually do this by hand, as the dough gets fairly stiff). Avoid eating all the cookie dough. Drop by spoonful (or small scoop) onto a lined baking sheet. Bake at 325 for 10-12 minutes, or until golden. Try not to eat them all.

I don’t think I have any sort of dried fruit in the house, or I would probably make another batch tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

