Skip to content

Monday Meal Planning

January 31, 2011
tags: ,

I’m going to try something. I’m going to post my meal plan for the week; partially to share with my half dozen or so readers what we eat and partially as a way for me to keep track so I’m not repeating meals too often (though, is there really such a thing as too much homemade mac and cheese? I think not.). When I can, I’ll include recipes or links to recipes that I use.

Without further ado, I present Monday Meal Plan #1

Monday: chicken tortilla soup (recipe to follow)
Tuesday: Crock Pot pork roast with vegetables
Wednesday: beef chili
Thursday: Pancake Supper from the local Lion’s Club (thanks Mom and Dad for the tickets!)
Friday: turkey vegetable lasagna, salad, french bread
Saturday: meatloaf, mashed potatoes
Sunday: ?? Something for the Super Bowl, I guess…

This is where I admit I completely forgot that the Super Bowl is this upcoming weekend. Normally, we’d get together with some friends of ours who all have kids around the same age as the kiddos and watch the game at one of our houses, but we can’t exactly drive two hours home on a Sunday night after the game when the kiddo has school the next morning. And we don’t know anyone well enough around here with kids to either have over or go elsewhere. So we’ll either watch it at our house with just us or see if my parents want to hang out.

And I still have no clue what I’ll make to eat, but I can figure that out later this week.

Now, for the chicken tortilla soup recipe.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

1 lb. skinless, boneless chicken breasts, cooked and chopped/shredded
1 green peeper, diced
1 small onion, diced
1 anaheim (or other pepper), diced (optional)
1 – 32oz container fat free chicken broth
1 c. frozen corn kernels
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can southwest style diced tomatoes (not RoTel)
1 t cumin (can adjust to taste)
1 t garlic powder (can adjust to taste)
2 t chili powder  (can adjust to taste)

Cook chicken. I prefer to poach or cook it all day in the crock pot to make it nice and tender.

Dice the onion

and the peppers.

Toss them into a large pot along with the entire container of chicken broth.

Add the corn

and tomatoes

and black beans.

Marvel at how pretty all the colors look together.

Dice or shred the chicken

and add that to the pot along with the spices.

Stir it all up well, bring the soup to a boil and then cover and turn down the heat to a simmer.

Simmer for 30-40 minutes, or however long you feel. The longer it simmers, the more the flavors will meld. Just watch the liquid level of the soup.

Top with some shredded cheese and eat with tortilla chips.

Yum!

I love this soup because you can make it however you want. Like it more spicy? Add more jalepenos or other hot peppers. Add some cilantro for more flavor. Cut back on the cumin if you don’t like cumin (I do, so I usually add more). Don’t like beans? Leave ’em out. It’s easy to experiment and figure out what you do or don’t like. And it’s a relatively healthy soup. I keep track of everything I eat and I have an estimate of the nutrition information here:

Serving size: 1 cup
Calories: 315
Fat (g): 16
Saturated fat (g): 5
Carbohydrates (g): 15
Fiber (g): 2
Protein (g): 28

Now, this is just a rough estimate and it doesn’t include any toppings or chips. The recipe makes about 8-9 servings, and it keeps well in the fridge or freezer. Even the kids like this soup!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

