Skip to content

Menu Planning Monday

February 7, 2011

A little late today. I have this cold that I just can’t seem to shake, and all I want to do is wrap myself up in multiple blankets on the couch and watch trashy TV.

Here’s what I have planned for this week:

Monday: bbq sandwiches, sweet potato fries (recipe to follow)
Tuesday: pork chops, roasted cauliflower
Wednesday: baked pesto chicken, vegetables
Thursday: vegetable sausage and pasta soup
Friday: homemade macaroni and cheese, vegetable
Saturday: Cheesy potato bacon soup
Sunday: pizza  (most likely homemade, but I’m not going to rule out the potential for ordering out somewhere!)

I’d actually planned to do bbq chicken sandwiches tonight (cook chicken breast in the crock pot, then shred and add bbq sauce) but we had a large piece of leftover pork roast from last week, so I heated that up instead. Now I have cooked chicken breasts ready to shred for something else, or put in the freezer.

We had one of my favorite sides tonight: baked sweet potato fries. This is a recipe I got out of my South Beach Diet cookbook, and it’s incredibly easy and delicious.

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and sliced into 3/4″ wide lengths
1 T olive oil
1 t sea or kosher salt (more or less to taste)

Preheat oven to 425. Peel and slice the sweet potatoes. Arrange in a single layer on a large baking sheet.

Drizzle with the olive oil, shaking the pan around to coat all the fries.

Sprinkle on the salt, shaking again to coat all the fries.

Bake at 425 for 12 minutes. Take the pan out and shake/flip the fries. Return the pan to the oven and bake for another 12 minutes until fries are browned on the edges.

Enjoy!

Everyone in our family loves these. Sometimes I use three potatoes just to make sure we all get enough. They go great with burgers or sandwiches, like we had tonight.

Nutrition information per serving

Servings: 4
Calories: 100
Fat (g): 3.5
Saturated fat (g): 0
Protein (g): 1
Carbohydrates (g): 17
Fiber (g): 2

Leave a Reply

