Skip to content

Homemade whole wheat pancakes

February 19, 2011
tags:

We’re having a lazy Saturday today. I’m not ashamed to admit that it’s after 2pm and the kids and I are *still* in our jammies.

To go with our lazy Saturday theme, I made homemade whole wheat pancakes for lunch. Now, I know there’s really nothing “lazy” about making your own pancakes for lunch, but it’s what sounded good. Besides, we don’t have pizza delivery or Jimmy John’s way out here in my small hometown.

I found this recipe online, from the Wheat Foods Council.

Light as a feather whole wheat pancakes

1 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
1 large egg
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/3 cups buttermilk
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon oil
1 teaspoon cinnamon (my addition)

Alternative if you don’t have buttermilk: omit soda, use 2 teaspoons baking powder and 1⅓ cups 2% milk.

Preheat griddle. Drop batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto griddle, cooking until center is bubbly and just starting to firm. Flip and cook another 2-3 minutes. Serve with syrup, applesauce, peanut butter or fresh fruit.

I actually doubled the recipe, because 12 four-inch pancakes are not nearly enough for our family (the kiddo ate five by himself) and used half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour. I also didn’t have any buttermilk on hand. I know I could have used 1 T vinegar in regular milk, but a notation at the end of the recipe gave an alternate for the buttermilk, so I used that instead. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter, for just a little more flavor. They were delicious! A double batch made about 20 pancakes for me, and they were all gone.

Cooking the pancakes on my poor, old, beat up griddle.

A not-so-short stack

With plenty of syrup (not the real maple kind, unfortunately)

Yum! (hello fuzzy pancakes. Darn you auto focus!)

“Pancakes! My Favorite!”

The kiddo preferred them without syrup and ate them with his hands.

“Look mom! It looks like an alien!”

The whole reason I made pancakes from scratch was because I didn’t think we had any pancake mix on hand. Only when I was halfway through cooking did the hub pull down the unopened box of Bisquick pancake mix from the cupboard. Oh well, these weren’t any more difficult than from a box, and I think they probably tasted a little better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 3:50 pm

    Yum! The kids seem to be enjoying them 🙂

Leave a Reply

