Skip to content

Monday Menu 2/21

February 21, 2011
tags: ,

Monday: Beef Stew *
Tuesday: Broccoli Chicken Divan with wild rice
Wednesday: Martha Stewart’s Baked Eggplant Parmesan
Thursday: Turkey Tater Tot Casserole
Friday: Denver frittata with hashbrowns
Saturday: Chicken Cacciatore
Sunday: Ham and Bean Soup

* In the interest of full disclosure, this is the beef stew I was supposed to make on Sunday. But I forgot to take the roast out of the freezer, so I ended up making pizza instead and am making beef stew today. I’m nothing if not resourceful when it comes to meals and quick changes.

I was really struggling for ideas this week, so to help inspire me I ended up scrolling through the AllRecipes app on my iTouch. I love that thing (my iPod, though the app is pretty sweet, too). That’s where the chicken cacciatore and Denver frittata came from.

For the most part, my small-town grocery store has pretty much everything we need to get us through the week, but about once a month I have to make the 40-minute trek to the nearest big city and go to SuperTarget. This is one of those weeks. The kidlet needs diapers and wipes, we need toothpaste and our little grocery store doesn’t carry eggplant (kind of a main ingredient when you’re making baked eggplant parmesan). I try to stock up on those trips, so I usually end up buying multiples of low-fat chicken stock, organic pasta sauce and noodles, ground turkey and chorizo sausage – things that we just don’t get here. Surprisingly, I actually prefer more of the produce at our small grocery (even if they don’t have quite as big as a selection as SuperTarget), along with the fact they hand cut and wrap all the meat at the meat counter as you wait. Inevitably, I’ll have to make a quick stop at the store in town to pick up a few things, but I look forward to the weeks I get to go to SuperTarget, because that means I get to meander buy things that aren’t necessarily on my list but I just can’t seem to live without. Seriously, only people with willpower of steel can make it through Target without *something* extraneous jumping into their cart.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

