Skip to content

Monday Meal Planning – 3/14

March 14, 2011
tags: , ,

Some of the meals this week have been recycled from previous weeks. They’re meals, for one reason or another, I’d planned but didn’t make. So I already have the ingredients on hand.

Monday: meatloaf, mashed potatoes, vegetable
Tuesday: Chicken noodle soup
Wednesday: Turkey Lasagna (or the Lenten meal at church, it depends)
Thursday: Corned beef, cabbage, red potatoes *
Friday: Chicken enchiladas, rice
Saturday: Pork Roast, roasted veggies
Sunday: Leftovers

* This may or may not happen. Our local grocery had corned beef on special this week, but they were all out when I went shopping this morning. Plus, the hub will be out of town and I know he’ll eat corned beef and cabbage, so I don’t know if it’s worth making for just the three of us. I’ll have to see.

We went to a St. Patrick’s Day party at a friends house in our former town, and we had a lot of fun seeing everyone. It was a potluck meal, with the main dishes (soups in this case) being provided by our friends. I wanted to make something festive and fun and found these Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes from Smitten Kitchen.

They were awesome! Granted, I overbaked the cupcakes a little, I had to make two batches of ganache for the filling because I completely ruined the first batch by using unsweetened chocolate (totally not the same as bittersweet, FYI) and I probably could have added a little more powdered sugar to the Irish creme frosting (I always underestimate how soft it is). But everyone at the party thought they were tasty, and I had three, so they must have been okay.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

