Skip to content

Menu plan 5/10

May 10, 2011
tags: ,

Yes, I realize I’m a day late. I have a good excuse! I was helping my sister, who is due to have a baby any day now, which meant I didn’t get home until later last night and didn’t have time to grocery shop. We ended up eating leftovers, which really needed to be done anyway.

Tuesday: grilled ribeye steaks, fresh asparagus, melon, bbq beans
Wednesday: chicken jambalaya (holdover from last week), vegetable
Thursday: grilled cheese sandwiches, fruit, chips
Friday: my favorite meatballs (another holdover), mashed potatoes, fruit
Saturday: split pea and ham soup

Today is unseasonably warm – almost summer like – with temps in the 90s. Grilling just sounds good, and dad provided the steaks. The hub went down to his parents this weekend to help his dad with fieldwork and planting and brought back a big bag of fresh asparagus from the IL’s garden. He also brought back some rhubarb, which means I’ll be making a strawberry rhubarb pie in the next day or so.

The weather for the rest of the week is supposed to be more normal for this time of year. The hub is also gone for a few days, so I felt like making easy things I knew the kids would eat. I don’t have to worry about cooking on Sunday, either, because we’re [hopefully] going to a first communion/birthday party for one of my nieces. That is, if my sister isn’t delivering her baby at that time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

