Skip to content

Because I can

May 19, 2011

It’s 9:30 at night* and I’m baking lemon cupcakes with cream cheese frosting, just because I wanted to.

I had attempted to make candied violets yesterday in the hopes of putting them on top of the cupcakes, but those were a big, fat fail.

So I scrapped the violets and just made the cupcakes tonight.

The recipe I found on allrecipes.com. I had to do the modification of adding 1 t baking powder to each cup of all-purpose flour as suggested in the reviews because I have no self-rising flour.

The cream cheese frosting is a basic recipe**:
1 8oz package of cream cheese, softened
1/4 c butter softened
~4 cups powdered sugar (more or less depending on the desired consistency of the frosting)
~2 T half and half (again, more or less depending on the desired consistency of the frosting)
1/2 t almond flavoring

Cream cheese and butter together. Add powdered sugar, 1/2 c to 1 c at a time, mixing thoroughly. Add liquids. Add more powdered sugar and/or liquids as needed until desired consistency is reached.

I could eat that stuff straight out of the bowl. Oh wait, I have been.

The first batch finally cooled enough for me to frost one and test it out. You know, like research. I don’t want to be giving anyone disgusting cupcakes.

The top (prior to frosting) was nice and golden, with a teeny little crunch around the edges. It frosted easily, even with my somewhat spackle-esqe frosting. (The last few times I’ve tried to make frosting, I’ve made it just slightly too thin, so this time I went the other way and went perhaps a teeny bit thick. But it still tastes delicious!) It smelled nice and lemony, but not overpowering.

Oh nelly. These are some goooood cupcakes. Nice and moist with a good dense feel to them, but not overly dense like poundcake. The lemon flavor is just right and the frosting is a nice compliment to it. Even though I love me some buttercream frosting, I think the cream cheese works well with the flavors.

I have 22 more cupcakes to frost (the hub had to get in on the research as an impartial tester, you know…) and it’s going to be really difficult not to eat any more. But I don’t need to, not at 10 o’clock at night.

I can have one for breakfast instead!

* Yes, I realize that baking and attempting to take photos sans tripod and using the pop-up flash on your DSLR at 9:30 at night results in not-so-great photos.

** Waaaaay too much frosting for the 24 cupcakes the recipe makes (I overfilled my cups slightly). I ended up freezing the last 1/3 or so.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 10:15 pm

    Looks delightful. I love lemon, lemon anything (except sour candies YUCK).
    I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies today and I’m quite sure the dough was ebil (think evil) because it kept jumping into my mouth. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

