Skip to content

Tweet tweet

June 16, 2011

I have a hanging petunia plant outside our front door. It’s a habit I picked up from my mom – she always had a lovely hanging plant outside our front door growing up and I continued having a pretty hanging basket at our own house. I’ve had a variety – begonias, fuschia, some other things I don’t remember the name of now – but I seem to go back to petunias. Mostly because they’re bright and cheery and they’re practically impossible to kill.

I was watering it the other day when I discovered a mama bird had begun to build a nest in it. I watched it for a few days, more nest was being built.

One day I checked back and there were two pretty bright blue eggs nestled in the nest!

We had a Robin family outside our door.

I thought the two eggs were the end of it. We’d watch the mama robin perch in her nest keeping her babies toasty warm until it was time to hatch.

Until I peeked a few days later when I had to water my petunias again.

Surprise! There were now four eggs!

The kids and I watch the mama from our big living room window. She seems content to just sit among the pinky purple petunias watching the world while she waits for her babies. She even managed to hang on during a quick thunder/hail storm we had the other night. The hub said the basket was swinging this way and that, but the mama just stayed, steady as a rock.

The kiddo keeps asking if the eggs have hatched, and I have to keep telling him not yet. It’ll come soon enough.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2011 3:29 pm

    This makes me smile!
    Also, how is your garden growing? I want an update with pictures!!

Trackbacks

  1. They’ve hatched! « life in americana
  2. Another summer… « life in americana

Leave a Reply

