Skip to content

Garden update

June 17, 2011
tags:

Our garden seems to be coming along nicely so far this year- though not without a few setbacks. Early on some rabbits had munched on my little bean sprouts. We finally got a fence put up to keep those wascially critters out. But we completely forgot about deer.

They munched my kale (which was growing very, very nicely) down to little nubbins.

Thankfully, I think kale is one of those plants that actually grows better the more you cut it back. So the joke’s on you deer! We’ll have to try a few remedies to keep the deer, out, though. Someone suggested Liquid Fence while someone else (who’s mother is a Master Gardener) said to try Dial soap. I think I’m going to try that one first – you just drill a hole in the soap and hang it 4′ high at varying intervals.

Those dastardly deer also sampled my muskmelon plants. My poor little muskmelon wasn’t looking too hot, anyway, but I at least wanted it to have a fighting chance!

Most everything else is doing well.

The carrots have their little ferny tops:

(just ignore the grass in there. I need to do some weeding.)

The spinach is really rolling along:

I sould probably pick some.

My squash is doing wonderfully, despite being battered by the hail storm we had earlier in the week:

The green beans are already putting out feelers, which means we need to get some kind of fence or post for them to climb.

And the tomatoes are getting bigger, especially after the addition of fertilizer pellets and some mulch.

I’m still having a hard time waiting for everything to mature, though. I’m not good at waiting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 2:26 pm

    Will you hate me if I tell you we’ve been harvesting arugula and zucchini regularly, and I’ve even gotten a couple of (slightly underripe but I couldn’t resist) tomatoes?

  2. June 18, 2011 9:23 am

    Thanks for sharing your garden!

Leave a Reply

