Skip to content

They’ve hatched!

June 28, 2011

About a week ago, I posted about the nest a robin had built in my hanging petunia plant outside our front door. There were four bright blue eggs in the nest and sometime this weekend, they hatched!

We were out of town, celebrating the hub’s grandma’s 90th birthday, so it was my dad and my niece who informed us of their arrival. They were bringing back our dog after having her at the farm all weekend while we were gone and noticed the new hatchlings.

I must say, they aren’t exactly the prettiest things when they’re new. They won’t be winning any beauty contests.

But my nieces thought they were cute. Even our kids thought they were cute, if a bit funny looking.

All four hatched, though it’s somewhat difficult to discern where one baby bird ends and the next begins when they’re all piled on top of each other.

The mom and dad watched us very warily from our shepherd’s hook in the yard.

We try to disturb them as little as possible, but, seeing as they built their nest next to the main entrance to our house, sometimes it’s a bit difficult. Besides, I *do* have to water my petunias if I want them to keep growing.

I watched the mom and dad robin feed them long strings of prechewed worms and other bits yesterday morning. Fascinating and a bit grody at the same time, especially after just having had my own breakfast.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2011 10:30 am

    Amazing to think those hairless weird looking things will become regal robin redbreasts!

  2. Kristyn permalink
    June 28, 2011 12:53 pm

    One of the girls told me they saw them. Did E tell you we found an egg in our rocks? She wanted to keep it on her room– that sounded like a scrambled robin egg waiting to happen.

Leave a Reply

