Skip to content

Baked corn for freezing

August 4, 2011
tags:

It’s sweet corn time in Iowa, one of the best times of the summer. I realize I am a tad bit biased, but there is absolutely no comparison to fresh Iowa sweet corn. You haven’t lived until you’ve bought a plastic grocery bag of corn, still in their moist green husks, from the back of a rusted old pickup truck parked in a random parking lot. The ears are cheap – usually less than $5 for a dozen ears. The corn is local, if not from a farmer from the community, one from within the county. And it’s best in its purest form: cooked in a pot of slightly sugared water and then slathered with butter and sprinkled with salt. I’d guess we’ve had corn for easily seven or eight meals in the past few weeks.

The only sad thing about sweet corn season is that it only lasts for a short while, so we freeze it while we can. For as long as I can remember, my mom has been baking a cream-style sweet corn to freeze and have for the winter.

This is definitely not a low-fat, low-calorie treat, which is probably why it tastes so darn good.

You need:

approximately 30 ears of corn, husked and washed
one pint half and half
one pound butter
two tablespoons salt
three tablespoons sugar
large roasting dish (we like to use the aluminum ones you can buy at the grocery store – they’re good for a few years and when they get too old, you can just recycle them)

That’s it!

Hello love. I think we’ll have you for supper tonight. Again.

Start by cutting all the kernels off the cob into the roasting pan. This can be a very messy process, so we’ve learned through the years to put down newspaper around the pan, otherwise you have corn all over the place. At it was, our dog had a lovely snack of rogue corn pieces that kept flying on the floor.

That’s the hub as my willing helper. Also, you need to cut very carefully, otherwise you do things like this:

That’s me, having put a nice slice in my fingernail. I got lucky, I stopped right at the nail bed, which meant there was no blood or cursing involved. Of course, that also meant I had to go and cut all my fingernails down to nothing because for whatever reason, I can’t stand is having fingernails of varying lengths.

Once you get all the kernels cut off of one cob, take the back edge of the knife and run it over the cob again to get all the good corn mush left on the cob.

Next comes the goodness. Pour the entire pint of half and half over the corn.

Then top that with the pound of butter, cut into chunks.

Then add the sugar

and salt.

Carefully mix it all up (lest you have flying chunks of corn again – the roasting pan is fairly full by this point) so it’s all one big happy corn, half and half, butter, sugar and salt family.

Bake it at 325 for 90 minutes until the corn is tender and your house smells delicious.

Mmmm…. pools of butter……

Spoon the cooked corn into containers appropriate for freezing. We like the ones that are roughly a pint in size.

Then label them before they go to the freezer. If we were ever to not use all the containers through the winter before we make another batch (like that would ever happen in our house!) we know what year it’s from.

Then, when it’s cold and dreary in the middle of January, pull a container out of the freezer and warm it up to eat for Sunday dinner. Or whenever.

Baked Corn for Freezing
30 ears sweet corn, husked and washed
one pint half and half
one pound butter
2 T. salt
3 T. sugar
large roasting pan

Cut corn off the cob using a sharp knife, scraping the cob clean after kernels are off. Top with half and half, butter cut into chunks, salt and sugar. Stir well. Bake at 325 for 90 minutes. Spoon into containers for freezing, and put in freezer. Enjoy in approximately 6 months when the weather is dreary and summer feels like it will never return.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2011 10:39 am

    Yum! I’ve never tried sugared water for corn on the cob. I’ll have to do that, even if it’s not with Iowa corn out of a random truck.

    This totally reminds me of how my grandmother, a farm wife from Iowa, cooked. Cream, butter, and sugar in everything. Then sprinkle a little more sugar on top.

  2. Michelle permalink
    August 4, 2011 10:45 am

    This brings back memories of my mom’s family getting together to make corn for freezing. This recipe seems a little easier to control than the one my grandmother used and no one could get right. Some day when we have a chest freezer again, I’ll have to do this.

  3. Cheryl permalink
    August 18, 2013 9:19 pm

    Thank you! Thank you!! My mother-in-law and her sisters would get together every August when the corn was peak from her sister’s farm, ‘Stubby’ was her nickname. They would roast tons of corn, package in containers like yours and freeze for their family’s during the winter. My whole family would love it when she pulled out the ‘Stubby Corn’ as the grand-kids named it. My mother-in-law has passed and I had lost her recipe. I did a google search today and found your blog and am so excited, because I know this is exactly her recipe. I hope I am not too late to get some good corn to freeze!

Leave a Reply

