Skip to content

My little helpers

August 11, 2011
tags:

The ILs gave us more corn yesterday (about 12 dozen more ears, to be precise) so I foresee a lot more corn eating, baking and freezing in our house (as if there hasn’t been enough already the past few weeks!)

We froze another batch on Tuesday night after the kids went to bed. I had brought the corn down to the farm with me that afternoon so I could shuck it while the kids rode bikes. Only, once they saw what I was doing, they wanted to help, too.

The kiddo did great, despite going rather slowly. The hub and I have enough experience and strength to grab and pull enough of the husk away to expose the ear in two or three passes. The kiddo was peeling off one layer of husk at a time, and then needed help getting the silks off. But he did a good job and got about three or four ears done before he got tired of it.

The kidlet, on the other hand, didn’t fare so well.

She only attempted one ear before declaring it “too hard” and went off to sit on the pedal tractor.

“Here. You do it.”

My mother took at least one third of the corn with her this morning to bake her own batch for freezing, but we still have a big plastic tote full. I have to admit, as much as I love corn, I’m getting kind of tired of either eating it on the cob or baking it for freezing. Any other ideas for using up the eighty bazillion ears we have left?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lora Duncan permalink
    August 12, 2011 10:04 pm

    You can give some to your oldest sister so she can freeze some.

Leave a Reply

