Skip to content

Do you know what you’re having?

September 1, 2011
tags: ,

As a very visibly pregnant woman, that’s the second-most common question I get, right after “When are you due?” (November, for those who were wondering)

My answer to the gender question is always “Nope!” When people hear that, they usually respond one of two ways: “Good for you!” or “I had to find out, I couldn’t handle the waiting!”

Sometimes I feel like we’re the only people who aren’t finding out whether the baby is a boy or a girl. We didn’t find out with the kiddo or kidlet, either. Which is kind of strange because I’m usually not a Big Surprise kind of person. I snooped around for Christmas/birthday presents when I was little. I’ll read the last few pages of a book to determine if I like the ending or not. I’m not opposed to searching out spoilers for movies or TV shows online.

But for some reason, having kids was different. And not finding out just felt right to us. We liked that moment of surprise.

I know, I know, it’s a surprise whether you find out on the ultrasound table or the moment after delivery. And I will definitely agree that shopping for baby is much easier when you know. We have a bazillion yellow, green and cream sleepers from baby showers before the kiddo was born more than five years ago. But things seem to have changed since then.

Right now I’m on the hunt for the perfect Coming Home outfit for this kid and I am finding Nada. Everything is obviously girly and pink or obviously boyish and blue. Or if they are “gender neutral” they’re just not cute. GAP used to have the most adorable cable knit cream bodysuits, but they don’t carry them any more and the smallest I can find on eBay is in the 3-6 month size. I may birth gigantic babies, but they’re not quite that large (thank goodness!). And while this poor kid will get recycled nursery bedding (green and cream, naturally) and furniture (the same for all three kids) and hand-me-down toys and other clothes, I do want some things to be new and special for this one.

With the kiddo, I just had a feeling he would be a boy. And with the kidlet, I had a feeling she would be a girl (so much that I bought a cute purple dress for her coming home outfit). Call it mother’s intuition if you want, but I had a feeling. That doesn’t necessarily mean anything, though, just ask my sister.

With this kid, I’m not really feeling anything strong one way or another. The kidlet, on the other hand, very much wants a baby sister and lets us know almost every day. It doesn’t matter to the hub and I, we just pray for a healthy baby.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    September 13, 2011 3:55 pm

    There are too few surprises in life, so I think it is wonderful that you are waiting to know the sex of the baby!

    Good luck with your quest for a homecoming outfit!

    Susan
    Boston, MA

  2. September 25, 2011 6:06 pm

    I loved not knowing, too.

    I’m sure something perfect will turn up just in time to bring baby home. How are you doing on names?

Leave a Reply

