Skip to content

Resolute

January 6, 2012

I’ve been a member of an online community out in cyberspace for nearly seven years. As always happens around this time of year, my friends there post their past year’s resolutions, how they managed them and what their resolutions are for the new year.

They’re good to read because it makes me think about my own plans for the new year. I don’t usually do many specific resolutions because, knowing me, I’d forget about them halfway through February. Or if I do, I make them extremely specific, with a plan and an end date – like the time I wanted to run in our previous city’s annual 4th of July 5k, despite never having run more than a few hundred feet before.

So here are my resolutions for 2012:

Get Healthy.

In my mind, this means losing the 40 lbs I gained in my pregnancy with kid3. Getting back to better eating habits. Exercising 5 days a week and, when it gets warmer, doing the Couch to 5k program again (I train outside because we don’t have a treadmill and I am too much of a weenie to run in 10- and 20-degree weather) and running at least three 5ks with my sister. Ideally, it also means fitting into my pre-pregnancy skinny jeans by kid3’s first birthday (or the end of the year at the very latest), but I don’t want to set my goals too high.

I’ve already started by keeping track of what I eat on my iPod Touch and slowly getting back into exercising. Currently I’m working on the 30-day Shred with Jillian Michaels (who I’m convinced is the devil in dri-wick at times). I’ve done a variation of this resolution pretty much every year, and it’s one I do manage to keep fairly well.

Enjoy My Family.

With being pregnant the better part of all last year, and living in the post-pregnancy fog that comes with sleep deprivation and handling the needs of a newborn, I feel that the rest of my family can sometimes get pushed to the background. I have two other wonderful children in the kiddo and kidlet. Kids with huge imaginations and funny personalities. I have a fantastic husband who has more than stepped up as a parent and taken over some of the “mom” duties with the other two while I’m stuck on the chair with kid3. I don’t want to take them for granted or miss out on this time in their lives, because it won’t last long. And I also want to enjoy what’s most likely our last baby. I’m already bemoaning the fact that kid3 is quickly growing out of his sweet little newborn clothes.

So I’ll try not to get annoyed with the kiddo when he asks his three millionth question or doesn’t follow our directions rightthissecond. I’ll try to stay patient with the kidlet as we work on potty training and deal with her tantrums. I’ll make time for the hub and not feel like I have to get something done because Huzzah! kid3 is napping and I can actually take a shower now. And I’ll snuggle with kid3 as much as possible and drink in that sweet baby scent because, before too long, he’ll be a wobbly toddler running around after his big brother and sister.

Those are my goals for 2012. What are yours?

Leave a Reply

