Skip to content

Time flies when you have three kids

February 12, 2012

And before you know it, it’s been almost a month since my last post.

The winter that wasn’t continues with unseasonably warm temps and less than average snowfall. Of course, we had a slight cold snap this past week where the temps were in the teens for a few days, but for the most part it’s been warm for this time of year. The kids (and the hub) miss playing in the snow. And I wouldn’t mind a little more, to tell you the truth.

I managed to solo mom it for three days/nights at the end of January while the hub was gone on a work trip. The kiddo was up, fed, dressed and to school on time every morning the hub was gone. The rest of us probably looked a sight, but we made it. Showers are overrated, anyway. It’s all about the spit-up stains, baby!

Kid3 still has me trapped on the chair at night. Even though I’m in a constant state of sleep deprivation (and probably will be for the next, oh, 18 years), I think it’s the only thing that’s been keeping the breastfeeding going. I’m not exclusively nursing – my body just doesn’t seem to want to work that way – but I’ve made it farther than I did with the other two (mostly because I had to go back to work at 6-8 weeks with them, and it was downhill from there) and I’m not willing to give that up yet. Who cares if I haven’t slept in my own bed since October, when I was too massively pregnant to be comfortable sleeping flat on my back. The sleep deprivation and sore behind is worth it when I get rewarded with smiles like this:

We made a decision on what to do with our living room furniture and ordered our sectional at the end of January. It should be here by Friday. Unfortunately, the built-ins the hub is putting in around the fireplace aren’t nearly ready to be installed. And I still need to finalize and order the wallpaper that’s going behind those shelves. Like every home project we work on, we start out with lofty goals and deadlines, and eventually finish at least three months later. It’ll get done when it gets done, I guess. I’m not the one doing the work, so I can’t complain too much. Unless it’s to egg the hub on to actually doing some work.

We’re one step closer to farming on our own. The hub bought a (used) planter last week. It’s our first official piece of machinery, and it only took four months to come to fruition. If this process is any indication, buying a tractor will take us a few years. He’s also been working with various seed dealers and has all the seed and fertilizer bought for next year. Whee! Seed corn caps for everyone!

I’ve been doing okay on my New Year’s resolutions. I’ve managed to get around 30 minutes of exercise 5 days a week since the beginning of the year and have made good headway on my weight loss. As far as taking the time to enjoy and appreciate my family, some days are easier than others, but I am trying. I’ve been enjoying the kidlet a lot lately, with her funny stories and imagination. The kiddo is tougher as he’s a typical 5-year-old who is prone to not listening. But we are awfully proud of his work in school. The hub and I are planning a getaway to Mexico at the end of May for the wedding of one of my good friends from college. I have a feeling that will be some much-needed time together, sans kids, to relax and reconnect. I don’t know if the babysitters watching the three crazy redheads will get much rest and relaxation, however (thank you in advance mom and dad and MIL/FIL!).

That’s the state of us. I really only have time at the computer when kid3 is napping, and usually that “free” time is spent doing things like exercising, showering, cleaning the house, folding laundry or playing with the kidlet, so blogging has taken a spot on the back burner for a moment. Hopefully I’ll be able to pick it up more frequently as the weather gets warmer and kid3 gets older.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

