Skip to content

Happy (belated) birthday to me!

January 15, 2013
tags: , ,

It was my birthday 11 days ago. I turned 34, which isn’t so horrible. I’ve never been one of those people who wants to perpetually stay 29; I don’t mind getting older. I don’t ever feel as old as I am, and my family would probably say I don’t act my age either.

At 34 I have three wonderful, funny, smart, goofy kids. I have a loving, caring husband who spoils me (too much, though I’ll only pretend to complain a little). I have my health, a warm house, the means to provide for our family and loved ones nearby who are more than generous with time and money should we need it.

So turning 34 isn’t really all that bad.

We did the traditional birthday donuts for breakfast from the great little bakery in town. I had a nice day of shopping with kid3. The kidlet made me a lovely birthday card replete with birthday bee (it’s her signature drawing) and Cinderella stickers. I had a so-so supper (total Pinterest fail on my part) topped off with a viewing of Bridesmaids with the hub after the kiddos went to bed (I think we were probably some of the few people left who hadn’t seen it by now.).

But the biggest birthday present came about a week later. My good, old five-year-old Mac mini was starting to show its age. It was slow and finicky at times, and running out of memory. Plus, it was stuck in the utility room at the back of the house, and I could really only use it after the kids were in bed (and it’s Cold back there in the winter!). So the hub decided I needed a nice, new MacBook Pro. It will serve as the family computer, along with being the farm computer. Hopefully, the portability of it being a laptop will also mean I can be more frequent with my blog updates.

Here she is, isn’t she pretty?

Image

I haven’t named her yet. Most of our electronics have been named after Muppets characters. We’ve had Kermit, Gonzo, Fozzy, Scooter and Sweetums iPods, the iPad is Miss Piggy and our WiFi connection is Beaker. I’ll have to think of a fitting name for the MacBook.

I’ll still need to use my Mac mini – it has all the graphic design programs I use for editing photos and creating cards and other design items. But I’m already enjoying the ability to sit at the dining room table with a cup of coffee and check on emails while kid3 attempts to destroy the house at my feet.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

