Skip to content

Boredom Baking – Sorghum Cookies

January 22, 2013

We are in the middle of a serious cold snap in north central Iowa. It went from 40 degrees on Friday to -7 Monday morning. Brrrr!

The older two kiddos didn’t have school yesterday due to in-service/Martin Luther King Jr. Day, so while they were glued to the TV watching Wild Kratts, (sidebar: that show is the sole reason the kiddo asked for a giant squid and sperm whale for Christmas. Good thing Santa is resourceful and Amazon really does carry just about everything you could want.) I decided to do some baking to warm up the house.

I’d made chocolate chip cookies a few weeks ago, white chocolate cranberry cookies last week and banana bread last weekend, so we weren’t really short of baked goods, but when I get the urge to bake, I need to bake.

I decided to make molasses cookies. It’d been a while since I’d made them, and I was craving their soft, spicy goodness.

I used the recipe that came from my Grandma Emma. The tattered card is a little short on some details, like exactly how much flour to use or how long to bake the cookies, but I managed.

photo-2

I also discovered that I was a little short on molasses. I’d used more than I realized making gingerbread boys over Christmas. However, I did have a full jar of sorghum.

photo-3

Now, sorghum isn’t quite the same thing as molasses, even though they look alike. Sorghum is made from the sorghum plant while molasses is a byproduct of sugar production. They have similar flavor profiles, and can be used almost interchangeably in recipes, though the taste will be slightly different between molasses and sorghum.

So I set to work mixing.

Grandma Emma’s Molasses Cookies
1 c. molasses
1 t. soda
2 c. sugar
2/3 c. sour cream
3 well beaten eggs
1 c. shortening (I used butter)
1 t. ginger
1 t. cinnamon
1/2 t. salt
flour to make soft dough (I used about 3 1/2 cups. I could have used a little more, up to 4 maybe, for a slightly firmer cookie)

Bake in quick oven. I baked these at 375 for about 8 to 8:30 per batch. I also put fewer cookies on the [parchment-lined] cookie sheets as I knew they would spread some while baking.

photo-1

 

They turned out beautifully! They are a lighter golden color than if I’d used molasses, and have a more honey-like flavor to me. But they still have that nice spiciness from the ginger and cinnamon and are soft and chewy thanks to the sour cream.

The hub liked them, as did the kiddo. I had probably 4-5 cookies yesterday (once you take into account all the cookie dough I snitched while baking – it’s quality control testing, right?) and then had another two this morning for breakfast.

These won’t replace molasses cookies, but they are definitely a nice alternative!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

