Skip to content

Boredom Baking – Peanut Butter Marshmallow Blondies

January 25, 2013
tags: ,

The hub is working a track meet this weekend, which is a good excuse for me to unload some of the excess from my baking binges (or a good excuse for me to go on a baking binge).

I’d had a few bags of the Reese’s mini peanut butter cups (the unwrapped, mini mini kind) in my baking cupboard for quite a while and wanted to use them in something before I decided to open one up and eat them all at once.

I did a search on Pinterest to see if any recipes looked good, or spark some inspiration. I also looked through some of my small-town cookbooks to see if there were any good looking recipes in one of those.

I ended up combining a recipe I found on Pinterest with one from a cookbook. It turned out magically, if I do say so myself.

photo-4

Doesn’t that look good? I probably could have sat down on the couch and eaten the entire bowl of dough without baking it. It was that amazing.

But I didn’t and baked them like the good cook that I am. And you know what, they were even more amazing after I pulled them out of the oven and let them sit for a bit.

photo-5

photo-6

Peanut Butter Marshmallow Blondies
(adapted from this recipe from twopeasandtheirpod)

1/2 c. butter
2 c. light brown sugar
1/2 c. peanut butter
2 large eggs, beaten
1 t. vanilla
2 1/2 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1/4 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
1 c. mini marshmallows
1 bag Reese’s unwrapped mini peanut butter cups
1 7 oz.container marshmallow creme

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Grease a 9-inch by 13-inch pan and set aside. In a saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter and brown sugar, stirring constantly until smooth. Remove from the heat, and stir in the peanut butter, until creamy and combined. Set mixture aside to cool. (sidebar: I actually did this step in the microwave as I was using my stovetop to cook supper the same time I was making these brownies. I put the butter and brown sugar in a microwave-safe glass bowl and heated the butter/sugar mix for 1-minute segments, watching to make sure it was getting hot and bubbling, but not boiling over. That ended up being about 3 1-minute segments.)

In a large bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Add the beaten eggs to the peanut butter mixture, mixing well. Add the vanilla extract and stir to combine. Pour the mixture into the prepared dry ingredients, and stir until batter is smooth. Stir in the peanut butter cups and marshmallows.

Pour/spoon the batter to the prepared pan, spreading the batter evenly to the edges of the pan. Top with the container of marshmallow creme and spread over the entire top as best as possible. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the top is golden and the edges are slightly browned. Remove from oven and place them on a wire rack to cool.

I didn’t let them cool long enough before I cut into them (seriously, patience is not a virtue I possess, especially when it comes to baked goods). At first gooey bite I thought they were good, but not OMG good. Then, I had another taste after the kids were in bed and the brownies had more time to cool and set. Now they were OMG good. It took a whole lotta willpower to keep myself from eating half the pan.

I cut up the rest of the brownies and put them in a container for the hub to take tomorrow, but not before I put aside a few for us to eat. I would be surprised if they lasted through the weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 25, 2013 10:49 pm

    I bake when I get bored too, in fact I am thinking about something to bake right now.

Leave a Reply

