Skip to content

Double Chocolate Cherry Cordial cookies

March 2, 2013

If you haven’t figured out by now, I like to bake. I like to bake a lot, usually when I have nothing “better” to do (and sometimes when I do have something better to do).

Cookies are probably what I make most often, because they’re easy to throw together and once you have a basic cookie recipe, you can combine different mixings to make a variety of cookies.

I was at Target the week after Valentine’s Day and scored a bag of cherry cordial M’n’M’s for 70% off. I think they rang up around $0.94 or something ridiculous like that.

photo-1

I already had a bag in my baking cupboard, but two is always better than one, right? I thought maybe I’d try some sort of fudgy brownie with the cherry M’n’M’s, but once I brought them home, I had visions of chocolate cherry cookies instead.

photo-2

I also had about 2/3 of a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips left over from some baking experiment, and I decided to toss those in, too, because I could. Why not!

photo-3

They turned out so yummy. The cookies were nice and fudgy, with a chewy, gooey center. I decided to put in the entire bag of M’n’M’s and the rest of the chocolate chips (more is always better, right?) but you could definitely cut those back and still have the cherry flavor, but without so much “stuff” (as the hub likes to put it) in the cookie.

Double Chocolate Cherry Cordial Cookies
1 c butter, softened
1 c sugar
1 c brown sugar (packed)
3 eggs
2 t vanilla
2 1/2 c flour
3/4 c cocoa powder
1 t baking soda
1/2 t salt
1 c (or more to taste) chocolate chips (dark, semi-sweet or milk chocolate – it’s up to you!)
1 c (or more to taste) cherry cordial M’n’M’s

Preheat oven to 350. Line baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside. Cream butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each one. Add vanilla and mix well. In a separate bowl mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture (about 1/3 at a time, combining after each addition) until combined, scraping down the sides as needed. Stir chocolate chips and M’nM’s into the dough (it will be stiff). Scoop out onto prepared baking sheets (I use a cookie scoop, like a miniature ice cream scoop) and bake 10-11 minutes, until cookies have puffed slightly. I like to underbake mine slightly, so they’re extra gooey.

Even after a few days, these cookies were still nice and chewy, and a few seconds in the microwave quickly brought them back to their gooey glory.

I picked up a bag of white chocolate M’n’M’s the other week, too, and will try these cookies with the white chocolate M’m’M’s and white chocolate baking chips. While they won’t have the good cherry flavor, I’m sure they’ll be tasty in their own way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

